Board of Trustees Holds Inaugural Meeting, Elects Student Trustee

MTSU— Middle Tennessee State University’s new board of trustees held its inaugural meeting Monday and did everything from pass the board’s bylaws to elect a student trustee to sit on the board.


President McPhee said that this program is an important and essential part of the “Drive to 55” initiative presented by Governor Bill Haslam last year.

The FOCUS, or Focus on College and University Success Act, is part of the Drive to 55, and allows public universities in the state of Tennessee to separate from the Tennessee Board of Regents and have more autonomy with a smaller governing board of trustees.


President Dr. Sidney Mcphee called the meeting to order on Monday, and Governor Bill Haslam was present to witness the inaugural meeting.

The board consists of eight appointed trustees, six of which have ties to MTSU through degrees and involvement.

  • W. Andrew Adams, chairman, National Health Investors
  • J.B. Baker, owner and CEO of Sprint Logistics
  • Pete Delay, executive in Forterra Building Products’ Nashville office
  • Darrell Freeman, former executive chairman of Zycron Inc.
  • Joey Jacobs, chairman and CEO of Acadia Healthcare Co.
  • Chris Karbowiak, executive vice president, chief administrative officer and chief risk officer of Bridgestone Americas Inc.
  • Stephen Smith, board chairman of Haury & Smith Contractors
  • Pamela Wright, founder, retired owner and CEO of Wright Travel


Lindsey Pierce Weaver, who was Student Government Association president during the 2015-2016 school year, was nominated and chosen to serve as the student representative on the board of trustees.

Weaver says she is excited to serve on the board and give insight into how certain legislation might affect the students.

This post was also published to and on April 16, 2017.

Reporter: Katie Inman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>